Mail Bag! PLUS: A True Story!

Loyal Readers and Brewers Fans!

Mailabg

We’ve Got Mail!

Yesterday, I told you about one of two remarkable emails I received.

Let me tell you about the second.

But first, a True Story.

True_story_1

My first Brewers Fantasy Camp was in 2006.

It was also the first Camp for a guy named Rick.

His words: "I received the gift of my life when my wife Amy, family, and friends chipped in to send me to the 2006 Milwaukee Brewers Fantasy Camp for my 40th birthday – I couldn’t believe it!"

For Rick who grew up a Brewers fan, seeing all of the former Brewers greats and being in the Brewers locker room was "a dream come true."

Welcome_1

Camp for Rick started out well until Wednesday (the third day of play) when while diving for a ball, (something that Rick new might be trouble) he landed on his arm, dislocated his shoulder and broke his arm at the humeral head.

Now let me tell you, I have experienced a "long bone" fracture, in my case it was a comminuted displaced tibial fracture.

And it hurts.

A lot.

It hurts so much that you cannot tolerate it for a moment.

And you want to scream.

And you do scream.

Or you pass out.

And wake up, only to pass out again.

Long bone fracture.

It hurts.

Back to Rick.

Humeral neck fracture: it’s a bad way to break your arm.

Very bad.

When he hit the ground he new he was done.

Coaches, trainers, players, his wife Amy, all rushed to Rick’s side.

He was calm.

And collected.

Rick did not complain.

Not once.

Taken to a hospital he waited.

For a day.

No surgery.

And then another day.

No surgery.

No food.

He did not complain.

Not wanting to wait the weekend without surgery, Rick returned to Camp with the intent of returning to Wisconsin for surgery.

Oh, and the good news?

Rick’s team won the tournament.

And at the Awards Banquet, Rick got a well-deserved standing ovation.

A more Brave or Courageous performance I have never seen.

Really.

Fast Forward to 2007.

Rick returns to Camp.

He plays little, still recovering from his injuries.

But he dresses for play.

He and Amy write a daily "newspaper" for the Fantasy Camp including photos from play, statistics, and all the administrative information needed to make Camp run perfectly.

He does not complain.

He is always in a good mood.

And at the end of Camp, Rick and Amy (both) receive well-deserved standing ovations  at the Awards Banquet.

True.

So what was in the letter?

Rick wrote to me to say he was sorry to hear about my arm, told me he knows how hard rehab can be, wished that the Brewers had more than a 2-game lead, and that he would see me at the Reunion Game.

No better teammate could you find.

Ricktipofthecap

And I am humbled.

Thanks Rick!

See you September 6!

 

Leave a comment