All-Star Highlights! The Show! PLUS: Celebrity Sightings! UPDATED!

Loyal Readers and Brewers Fans!

Welcome Back to Your Favorite Brewers Blog!

About Last Night.

Ichiro

Great.

When Ichiro hit the ball into the gap in the fifth inning, the crowd which had been mostly silent all game, save for each time Barry Bonds was at bat and when Ken Griffey, Jr. threw Alex Rodriguez out at the plate, began to buzz when it became apparent that Junior was not going to get close to it.

And then the ball bounced off the wall and caromed behind Junior.

The crowd rose to its feet.

Ichiro started to run.

Triple!

And then the crowd went crazy.

He’s going to score!

And he did.

Fantastic!

Carl Crawford.

I don’t know much about him, but he seems like he’s got real talent.

And he laced Coco’s pitch into right field.

Crawford
The Big Show.

 

I know Jose Reyes went 3-4 but was it really necessary for him to play eight innings?

Is Reyes really that much better than JJ Hardy?

Yes, Tony LaRussa played Ben Sheets and Prince Fielder and even let A Man Called Coco into the game, but I think he could have let hardy play in the seventh or eighth inning and get a second at bat.

My take.

LaRussa wanted it to stick it to Hardy.

Plain and simple.

Want more proof of the kind of manager LaRussa is?

"I was ready," said Pujols. "I was born ready Maybe he wanted to play
the other guys and maybe he didn’t want to leave the other guys out.
Maybe if he would have played me and left another guy out, they would
have said, ‘Why did he play Albert instead of the other guy?’

"I was loose and ready to go. Maybe he was saving me for next year’s All-Star Game."

In response, the "In America" brush-off non-response, response:

"If he wants to get upset, he can get upset," La Russa said. "Whatever he
wants to do, he can do. It’s America. That wasn’t the most important thing
tonight."

With friends like that.

And today, the backtrack.

“Of course I was disappointed I didn’t get in the game, but it’s not a
big deal,” Pujols said after listening to various accounts alleging
decay in his relationship with La Russa. “People are making a big deal
about it, saying I don’t respect Tony or that he disrespected me. Are
you kidding?”

Right.

Celebrity Sightings!

Your pal Yogi said "Hi" to them all!

Ryan Howard! (Didn’t have time to take a picture with me.)

Ryan_1

Jack McDowell (Looks good.)

Blackjack

Paula Cole (at the Starbucks this morning!)(She sang God Bless America at the ASG!)

Paula_cole

The funny thing about the celebrity sightings was that in each case, Ryan, Jack, and Paula, was in public (Ryan and Jack in the stands at AT&T during the ASG) and Paula at Starbucks, and NO ONE noticed them or said "Hi" or anything.

In the case of Ryan Howard, he appeared to be with his family, Mom, Dad, brother, son, (I’m guessing) and I NEVER before have asked a celebrity for a photo, but in this case I was thinking of my Loyal Readers and thought it might be fun, so I asked.

Anyway, Ryan was cool, but he was with his family and he said he was leaving to catch a plane, so I left it at that.

Your pal Yogi, working for YOU!…

More later.

Until then…

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment