Where in the World is Yogi?

So, where was I?

Good question.

It all began Mother’s Day weekend.

“The Grammie” as she is lovingly known came for a visit from sunny California.

(NB: The Grammie as she is especially known to her grandchildren, is also known as GiGi to her great-grandchildren, as well as Miss Gloria to her only son, Yogi.)

Saturday was spent at Arlington Park International Race Track, in the Million Room, sitting a table for eight at the window.

Very nice.

Then it was off to dinner and drinks at The Grammie’s favorite Italian restaurant Francesca’s Intimo in Lake Forest, Illinois.

Sunday was spent hard at work battling every known creeping grass, weed, and lawn invader as well as mowing the 2-acres of lawn at Casa Yogi.

And Monday was spent hard at work preparing for this latest trip from Chicago to Sacramento, then Visalia, then Fresno, California for 5 lectures in two days plus over 500 miles of driving.
Url
Sacramento’s Tower Bridge

Raisins

Fresno: Raisin Capital of the World!

Page_003_1

Naval Air Station Lemoore

(Hit the Link and Check Out Our Real Heroes!)

I love those guys.

True Story:

About three years ago I gave a lecture to the Navy docs at Lemoore, at the Station’s hospital. One of the flight docs knew I had an interest in aviation medicine and the military and got me into the OPS site of the Station!

I visited the VFA-125 (they currently aren’t stationed there now), met the CO, some of the pilots and crew.

When you leave the squadron HQ which is a very nondescript cinder-block building and exit to the hangars, above the door that you pass through is a sign that reads:

"Through these doors lie the best maintained and most lethal aircraft in the world."

001nfa_060524_0115_2

Amen to that Brother. Amen.

Yesterday I flew from Fresno to LA, then LA Chicago (BTW, I passed over The Grammie’s house at 38,000 feet and could actually see with a very close approximation her actual house. Neat.)

Tomorrow it’s off to St. Louis for two nights.

Then on Monday it’s off to Las Vegas for two nights.

Then next Friday, it’s off to San Diego where on Saturday, May 26 Butterfly (The World’s Cutest Brewers Fan) and I will be seeing the Brewers play the Padres at PetCo park. The first of hopefully several road trips to see the Brewers.

All told, by the end of May I will have flown over 50,000 miles this year and well on my way to another 100,000+ year of flying.

!

You have my word Dear Reader and fellow Brewers fan that I will do my utmost to keep you informed of all things Brewers and to do everything in my power to see at least one inning of the Crew to help insure a Milwaukee victory!

As it is becoming increasing clear that I may indeed be the Official Brewers Good Luck Charm.

Starting tonight.

I’ll be there.

Will you?

 

I hope so!

Until then…

Enjoy!

Leave a comment